That one time I spent $600 on TMNT turtles on Craigslist…

So I’m sitting in my mom’s kindergarten classroom a couple summers ago when my phone rings.  Who is it? It’s the guy with the teenage mutant ninja turtle collection; he wants to deal.

Earlier in the day I was perusing through Craigslist (it’s kinda my thing).  One of the most interesting finds of the day was the post about someone’s collection of MOC (mint on card also known as eBay slang for new) TMNT Action Figures from the late 1980′s and early 1990′s.  What did I know about this stuff before I saw this post?  Nothing.  What did I know after selling this extensive collection?  Way too much!

After a little research I found that these things could actually make me some money.  But not for $900.

Back at the school & the phone is ringing in the kindergarten hallway and I’m jumping with anticipation.  I have an offer in mind: $600, but there’s no way he’ll go that low for this big of a collection.  I offer and he doesn’t even stutter before saying yes.  I’m the type of person that can’t just enjoy the moment of the win;  All I can think about in this moment is how I should have offered less and could’ve still gotten these darn things.

I follow my own advice (from the previous Craigslist post) and roll up to the Wal-Mart parking lot.  Don’t lie and tell me that you don’t have a name for every Wal-Mart where you live.  We’ll just go the politically correct route and call this the affluent and culturally diverse one in town.  I pay the guy his six Benjamins and out of his trunk comes 4 massive Home Depot boxes as tall as your toddler FULL of sealed Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle action figures…

Damn I just spent $600 on TMNT Turtles in a Wal-Mart parking lot.

If you want to see what 165 turtles look like sprawled out in a living room go look at the first post on this blog.  In the end, I made plenty of money easily doubling my money and then some after fees.  It took months to clear out the collection, so was it worth it – HELL YES!  They are ninja. frekin. turtles.

Scratch is one of the rarest TMNT figures - this guy can easily get you hundreds of dollars. Good luck finding him!

What a great bar story – tell me a great joke and I will politely laugh.  Then I will follow up with the story of that one time I spent $600 on TMNT turtles on Craigslist.  Surely this has to be the weirdest story of my eBay dealings, right?  hahaha – you really have no idea do you???  Just wait.

This entry was posted in That One Time and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to That one time I spent $600 on TMNT turtles on Craigslist…

  1. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. I am always searching online for ideas that can benefit me. Thanks!

  3. Simon says:

    Very interesting! I am a TMNT collector myself, but I never even saw Scratch back in the days. I’m from Italy, and I guess he was never released in Europe. Nice score anyway! Hope to find a loose one at least. I have a blog about old toys myself, check it out if you like. Cheers :-))

    • Adam Brewer says:

      Simon,
      I have a loose Scratch figure I’m looking to unload…..interested?

      • Simon says:

        Hi!
        sorry, I read your reply to my old comment just right now! Meanwhile I found a loose Scratch figure from another collector. But, I still miss all his accessories. Do you have them for sale too maybe?

      • Simon says:

        Sorry, forgot to select “notify me of follow-up comment via email.” lol

  4. joe says:

    i have scratch both loose and carded

  5. no no says:

    That story is as fake as these comments

    • 777bandman says:

      I want to assure you that this story is no fake. This happened and there are all kinds of deals like this to be had if you are willing to put in the effort and have the time to do so.

  6. Luis says:

    Do you still have the loose scratch figure?

  7. Gyropitus says:

    I’m after a valuation on a MOC Scratch – unpunched. Anyone? Minimal creasing to card.

Leave a Reply

